Nursing Administration & Leadership Programs in Virginia

Compare MSN, DNP and certificate paths by cost, practicum hours and accreditation

Reviewed by NurseAdministrator.org TeamUpdated October 2, 202615 min read

What you’ll learn in this article…

  • Our Virginia directory lists one master's program and several DNP programs.
  • Where a minimum GPA is published, it runs 3.0 to 3.2.
  • Check for CCNE or ACEN accreditation, since SACSCOC covers only the university.

Virginia nurses moving from the bedside into charge nurse, unit manager, director, or chief nursing officer roles, the nurse administrator duties and responsibilities, face a credential decision before an application decision. The seven Virginia-based schools in our directory list nine programs, split cleanly: two are master's degrees (MSN in administration or leadership), and seven are DNP in nursing administration tracks aimed at executive and CNO-level work.

Each program card is labeled with its credential (MSN, DNP, or post-master's certificate) and its delivery format (online, on campus, or both) exactly as the program's own data reports it. Formats run the full range, from fully online DNPs to hybrid tracks with in-person practicum courses.

The practical tension is rarely the degree itself. It is matching your current credential and residency status to a program whose cost, clinical hours, and timeline fit the schedule you already work.

Best Nurse Administrator and Nursing Leadership Schools in Virginia

Every school below is located in Virginia and has a graduate nursing leadership or administration program in our directory. Options include one master's degree and several Doctor of Nursing Practice programs, with online, hybrid and campus-connected formats. If a Virginia school you are considering is not listed, it is simply not in our directory.

Factors considered
  • Student-to-faculty ratio
  • Median graduate debt
  • Approximate net price after aid
  • Program accreditation and leadership focus
Data sources
  • National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
  • Internal program database
  • Independent program research

MSN Vs. DNP Vs. Post-Master's Certificate: Which Leadership Path Fits You?

The three credentials serve different starting points, not three rungs of one ladder. A BSN-prepared RN moving into management usually starts with the MSN, an MSN holder who wants new skills without a second degree looks at the certificate, and an experienced leader aiming at executive roles considers the DNP. Nationally, AACN reports 146,718 students in nursing leadership and administration master's tracks in 2026, while DNP enrollment reached 44,976. Employers surveyed in AACN's State of the DNP study said DNP graduates bring a broader skill set in leadership, quality improvement, and evidence-based practice, but many chief nursing officer postings still list a master's degree as the minimum, with doctoral preparation increasingly preferred.

FactorMSN in Nursing Leadership and AdministrationDNP with Executive Leadership FocusPost-Master's Certificate
Best fitBSN-prepared RN moving from bedside or charge duties into managementExperienced nurse leader aiming for executive or CNO-level rolesMSN holder who wants to add leadership and administration skills
Entry requirementBSN, active RN license, and usually some clinical experienceBSN or master's degree depending on the entry point, plus an active RN license and leadership experienceCompleted master's degree in nursing and an active RN license
Typical lengthAbout 18 to 30 months, depending on full-time or part-time studyOften 1 to 2 years post-master's, longer from the BSN, varying by programOften 1 to 2 years part-time, since it is a shorter, focused curriculum
Target rolesNurse manager, unit director, assistant director of nursingDirector of nursing, CNO, and other system-level leadership positionsSkills upgrade for current or aspiring managers, directors, and educators moving into administration
Degree focusManagement, budgeting, staffing, and healthcare operationsPractice doctorate centered on applying evidence, quality improvement, and systems leadership (not a research PhD)Targeted coursework without repeating a full degree
Program availability and trend655 schools offer master's programs; leadership enrollment rose 4.8% (6,308 students)452 schools offer DNP programs; enrollment rose from 42,767 to 44,976, and leadership made up 39.3% of post-master's DNP enrolleesOffered by a smaller set of schools, typically alongside existing MSN or DNP programs

Admission Requirements for Virginia Nursing Administration Programs

Across the programs we reviewed, the shared baseline is an active, unencumbered RN license, a degree from an accredited nursing program, and a minimum GPA of 3.0 to 3.2 where one is published. Programs differ most on years of RN experience and testing: Old Dominion's Nurse Executive DNP post-master's pathway and James Madison's Post-Master's to DNP in Healthcare Systems Leadership both report no GRE, as does VCU's DNP. The matrix below reflects each program's published admissions page, and "not specified" means that requirement was not published, not that it does not apply.

Program (Credential)RN LicenseEntry DegreeMinimum GPARN ExperienceGRE Required?Prerequisites
Virginia Commonwealth University, Nursing Leadership and Organization Science (DNP)Current unrestricted Virginia or multistate RN licenseBaccalaureate or higher from an accredited (ACEN, CCNE or CNEA) nursing programNot specifiedNot specifiedNo, no admissions test requiredNot specified
James Madison University, Nursing Practice (DNP)Unencumbered RN licenseMaster's degree in nursing from a nationally accredited institution3.2 undergraduate GPANot specifiedNot specified for the DNP listing (no GRE for the Post-Master's to DNP in Healthcare Systems Leadership)Letters of recommendation from at least two people
Old Dominion University, RN/BSN to MSN option (MSN)Not specifiedBaccalaureate in nursing or a related science field accepted; applicants must otherwise meet current MSN admission requirementsNot specifiedNo minimum years stated; recommendations from a former employer in the RN role are requiredNot specifiedThree letters of recommendation, including one from a former faculty member and one from a former RN-role employer
Liberty University, Executive Certificate in Clinical Leadership (Post-Master's Certificate)Active, unencumbered RN license, held in the state where the practicum occursMSN from a U.S. Department of Education recognized institution, accredited by CCNE or ACEN3.0Not specifiedNot specifiedNo grade lower than a B- may be applied to the certificate
Liberty University, Executive Certificate in Nursing Educational Leadership (Post-Master's Certificate)Not specifiedMSN from an institution accredited by an agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education3.01 year minimum as an RNNot specifiedNot specified

Cost and Financial Aid for Nurse Leadership Programs in Virginia

The cheapest sticker price and the lowest actual cost are rarely the same program, and in Virginia the gap usually comes down to residency. Public universities reward in-state nurses heavily; private institutions charge one flat rate but often discount it through institutional aid.

What the programs in our directory cost

Among the Virginia programs we rank, graduate tuition for in-state students runs from roughly $13,464 at James Madison University to about $18,865 at Mary Baldwin University. The public schools cluster tightly for residents: Radford at about $13,762, Old Dominion at $15,390, and VCU at $17,252. Cross the state line and the math changes sharply: out-of-state graduate tuition reaches $23,525 at Radford, $30,984 at JMU, $32,470 at VCU, and $36,174 at Old Dominion. The private options hold steady regardless of where you live, with Eastern Mennonite at about $16,196 and Regent at $17,869. A few publish per-credit pricing, which makes part-time planning easier: Regent lists $590 per credit across 30 credits, Eastern Mennonite $672 per credit across 35.

Average net price across these campuses ranges from roughly $12,756 to $24,588, but treat that number carefully. It is an approximate institution-wide average that reflects the full student body, not what a nursing leadership cohort actually pays. Program-level median debt and the typical 10-year monthly loan payment are not yet published for these Virginia leadership programs, so no one can quote you a reliable program-specific borrowing figure.

Virginia aid is mid-transition in 2026

The Virginia Department of Health administers the Mary Marshall Nursing Scholarship Programs, with a spring 2026 application window of March 2 through April 2, 2026. Eligibility as published covers LPN and RN education, and the department's materials do not establish that graduate nursing study qualifies, so confirm before you count on it.

More importantly, as of March 31, 2026, Virginia's nursing workforce incentive programs moved from the Department of Health to the Virginia Health Workforce Development Authority and its Virginia Nursing Workforce Center. VDH stopped accepting applications and reviewed Nurse Preceptor Incentive Program submissions received by April 30, 2026. Current award amounts, deadlines, and service obligations under the new administrator are worth verifying directly with the Workforce Center.

Federal programs and employer tuition assistance

File the FAFSA first, then look at Grad PLUS loans to cover the balance. The HRSA Nurse Corps Loan Repayment Program accepts RNs, APRNs, and nurse faculty whose qualifying loans financed diploma through doctoral nursing study. The initial award pays 60 percent of your outstanding qualifying balance for a two-year commitment; an optional third year adds 25 percent of the original balance, topping out at roughly 85 percent total.1 You must work at least 32 hours per week for 45 weeks per service year at an approved Critical Shortage Facility, or nine months per year as faculty.2 Enrollment alone does not qualify you.

Finally, ask your employer. Many Virginia health systems offer tuition assistance to nurses pursuing leadership degrees, and if your hospital is nonprofit or public, Public Service Loan Forgiveness may apply to the balance you still carry.

What Health Services Managers Earn in Virginia

Most nurse administrator jobs are classified under this occupation, so it is the best wage benchmark for weighing program cost.

The real cost of a nursing leadership degree rarely sits on the tuition line. It shows up in the practicum hours you fit around your shifts and in whether your employer helps pay.

CCNE and ACEN Accreditation for Virginia Nursing Leadership Programs

A school can be accredited and its nursing program still not be. Institutional accreditation (SACSCOC for Virginia colleges) covers the whole university, while CCNE and ACEN review the nursing programs themselves. For a leadership degree, the programmatic seal is the one that counts.

Why It Matters

Employers, especially hospital systems and Magnet-aspiring organizations, often screen for graduates of accredited nursing programs. Accreditation also keeps the door open to a DNP or PhD later, since doctoral admissions committees expect an accredited master's. ANCC certification eligibility rules, including those for nurse executive credentials, reference graduate degrees from accredited programs. An unaccredited degree can leave you with a credential you cannot build on.

Status of Virginia Programs

The CCNE directories, last updated in March 2025, show the following:

  • Old Dominion University: CCNE accredits its baccalaureate, master's and DNP programs. The online Nurse Executive DNP (MSN-to-DNP) sits within that framework.
  • James Madison University: The DNP Healthcare Systems Leadership concentration is described as CCNE-accredited.
  • Liberty University: CCNE accredits its BSN, MSN, DNP and postgraduate APRN certificate, and the master's directory lists the master's program.
  • Shenandoah University: Its nursing school appears in the CCNE Virginia directory, but the listing does not break out degree levels or concentrations.

For George Mason, VCU and Marymount, the directories we reviewed did not confirm current status for their leadership or administration tracks. That is a gap in what we could verify, not a finding about the programs. We also found no relevant ACEN entries for these schools, and expiration dates were mostly unavailable.

Verify It Yourself in Three Steps

  • Step 1: Search the CCNE accredited programs directory by school and degree level.
  • Step 2: Check the ACEN search for the same school, since some programs use that accreditor.
  • Step 3: Read the program's own accreditation page, and confirm the exact degree you plan to earn is covered.

New programs may hold candidacy status rather than full accreditation, so ask the admissions office what that means for your graduation date.

The Nurse Leadership Career Ladder at a Glance

Most nurse administrators climb one rung at a time, and each step usually asks for a stronger credential than the last. Here is the typical order, with the credential that most often supports each role.

Five-rung nurse leadership career ladder from staff RN to CNO, paired with typical credentials from BSN through DNP and NEA-BC

Recent Articles