What you’ll learn in this article…
- Our Virginia directory lists one master's program and several DNP programs.
- Where a minimum GPA is published, it runs 3.0 to 3.2.
- Check for CCNE or ACEN accreditation, since SACSCOC covers only the university.
Compare MSN, DNP and certificate paths by cost, practicum hours and accreditation
Virginia nurses moving from the bedside into charge nurse, unit manager, director, or chief nursing officer roles, the nurse administrator duties and responsibilities, face a credential decision before an application decision. The seven Virginia-based schools in our directory list nine programs, split cleanly: two are master's degrees (MSN in administration or leadership), and seven are DNP in nursing administration tracks aimed at executive and CNO-level work.
Each program card is labeled with its credential (MSN, DNP, or post-master's certificate) and its delivery format (online, on campus, or both) exactly as the program's own data reports it. Formats run the full range, from fully online DNPs to hybrid tracks with in-person practicum courses.
The practical tension is rarely the degree itself. It is matching your current credential and residency status to a program whose cost, clinical hours, and timeline fit the schedule you already work.
Every school below is located in Virginia and has a graduate nursing leadership or administration program in our directory. Options include one master's degree and several Doctor of Nursing Practice programs, with online, hybrid and campus-connected formats. If a Virginia school you are considering is not listed, it is simply not in our directory.
The three credentials serve different starting points, not three rungs of one ladder. A BSN-prepared RN moving into management usually starts with the MSN, an MSN holder who wants new skills without a second degree looks at the certificate, and an experienced leader aiming at executive roles considers the DNP. Nationally, AACN reports 146,718 students in nursing leadership and administration master's tracks in 2026, while DNP enrollment reached 44,976. Employers surveyed in AACN's State of the DNP study said DNP graduates bring a broader skill set in leadership, quality improvement, and evidence-based practice, but many chief nursing officer postings still list a master's degree as the minimum, with doctoral preparation increasingly preferred.
| Factor | MSN in Nursing Leadership and Administration | DNP with Executive Leadership Focus | Post-Master's Certificate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Best fit | BSN-prepared RN moving from bedside or charge duties into management | Experienced nurse leader aiming for executive or CNO-level roles | MSN holder who wants to add leadership and administration skills |
| Entry requirement | BSN, active RN license, and usually some clinical experience | BSN or master's degree depending on the entry point, plus an active RN license and leadership experience | Completed master's degree in nursing and an active RN license |
| Typical length | About 18 to 30 months, depending on full-time or part-time study | Often 1 to 2 years post-master's, longer from the BSN, varying by program | Often 1 to 2 years part-time, since it is a shorter, focused curriculum |
| Target roles | Nurse manager, unit director, assistant director of nursing | Director of nursing, CNO, and other system-level leadership positions | Skills upgrade for current or aspiring managers, directors, and educators moving into administration |
| Degree focus | Management, budgeting, staffing, and healthcare operations | Practice doctorate centered on applying evidence, quality improvement, and systems leadership (not a research PhD) | Targeted coursework without repeating a full degree |
| Program availability and trend | 655 schools offer master's programs; leadership enrollment rose 4.8% (6,308 students) | 452 schools offer DNP programs; enrollment rose from 42,767 to 44,976, and leadership made up 39.3% of post-master's DNP enrollees | Offered by a smaller set of schools, typically alongside existing MSN or DNP programs |
Across the programs we reviewed, the shared baseline is an active, unencumbered RN license, a degree from an accredited nursing program, and a minimum GPA of 3.0 to 3.2 where one is published. Programs differ most on years of RN experience and testing: Old Dominion's Nurse Executive DNP post-master's pathway and James Madison's Post-Master's to DNP in Healthcare Systems Leadership both report no GRE, as does VCU's DNP. The matrix below reflects each program's published admissions page, and "not specified" means that requirement was not published, not that it does not apply.
| Program (Credential) | RN License | Entry Degree | Minimum GPA | RN Experience | GRE Required? | Prerequisites |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Virginia Commonwealth University, Nursing Leadership and Organization Science (DNP) | Current unrestricted Virginia or multistate RN license | Baccalaureate or higher from an accredited (ACEN, CCNE or CNEA) nursing program | Not specified | Not specified | No, no admissions test required | Not specified |
| James Madison University, Nursing Practice (DNP) | Unencumbered RN license | Master's degree in nursing from a nationally accredited institution | 3.2 undergraduate GPA | Not specified | Not specified for the DNP listing (no GRE for the Post-Master's to DNP in Healthcare Systems Leadership) | Letters of recommendation from at least two people |
| Old Dominion University, RN/BSN to MSN option (MSN) | Not specified | Baccalaureate in nursing or a related science field accepted; applicants must otherwise meet current MSN admission requirements | Not specified | No minimum years stated; recommendations from a former employer in the RN role are required | Not specified | Three letters of recommendation, including one from a former faculty member and one from a former RN-role employer |
| Liberty University, Executive Certificate in Clinical Leadership (Post-Master's Certificate) | Active, unencumbered RN license, held in the state where the practicum occurs | MSN from a U.S. Department of Education recognized institution, accredited by CCNE or ACEN | 3.0 | Not specified | Not specified | No grade lower than a B- may be applied to the certificate |
| Liberty University, Executive Certificate in Nursing Educational Leadership (Post-Master's Certificate) | Not specified | MSN from an institution accredited by an agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education | 3.0 | 1 year minimum as an RN | Not specified | Not specified |
The cheapest sticker price and the lowest actual cost are rarely the same program, and in Virginia the gap usually comes down to residency. Public universities reward in-state nurses heavily; private institutions charge one flat rate but often discount it through institutional aid.
Among the Virginia programs we rank, graduate tuition for in-state students runs from roughly $13,464 at James Madison University to about $18,865 at Mary Baldwin University. The public schools cluster tightly for residents: Radford at about $13,762, Old Dominion at $15,390, and VCU at $17,252. Cross the state line and the math changes sharply: out-of-state graduate tuition reaches $23,525 at Radford, $30,984 at JMU, $32,470 at VCU, and $36,174 at Old Dominion. The private options hold steady regardless of where you live, with Eastern Mennonite at about $16,196 and Regent at $17,869. A few publish per-credit pricing, which makes part-time planning easier: Regent lists $590 per credit across 30 credits, Eastern Mennonite $672 per credit across 35.
Average net price across these campuses ranges from roughly $12,756 to $24,588, but treat that number carefully. It is an approximate institution-wide average that reflects the full student body, not what a nursing leadership cohort actually pays. Program-level median debt and the typical 10-year monthly loan payment are not yet published for these Virginia leadership programs, so no one can quote you a reliable program-specific borrowing figure.
The Virginia Department of Health administers the Mary Marshall Nursing Scholarship Programs, with a spring 2026 application window of March 2 through April 2, 2026. Eligibility as published covers LPN and RN education, and the department's materials do not establish that graduate nursing study qualifies, so confirm before you count on it.
More importantly, as of March 31, 2026, Virginia's nursing workforce incentive programs moved from the Department of Health to the Virginia Health Workforce Development Authority and its Virginia Nursing Workforce Center. VDH stopped accepting applications and reviewed Nurse Preceptor Incentive Program submissions received by April 30, 2026. Current award amounts, deadlines, and service obligations under the new administrator are worth verifying directly with the Workforce Center.
File the FAFSA first, then look at Grad PLUS loans to cover the balance. The HRSA Nurse Corps Loan Repayment Program accepts RNs, APRNs, and nurse faculty whose qualifying loans financed diploma through doctoral nursing study. The initial award pays 60 percent of your outstanding qualifying balance for a two-year commitment; an optional third year adds 25 percent of the original balance, topping out at roughly 85 percent total.1 You must work at least 32 hours per week for 45 weeks per service year at an approved Critical Shortage Facility, or nine months per year as faculty.2 Enrollment alone does not qualify you.
Finally, ask your employer. Many Virginia health systems offer tuition assistance to nurses pursuing leadership degrees, and if your hospital is nonprofit or public, Public Service Loan Forgiveness may apply to the balance you still carry.
Most nurse administrator jobs are classified under this occupation, so it is the best wage benchmark for weighing program cost.
The real cost of a nursing leadership degree rarely sits on the tuition line. It shows up in the practicum hours you fit around your shifts and in whether your employer helps pay.
A school can be accredited and its nursing program still not be. Institutional accreditation (SACSCOC for Virginia colleges) covers the whole university, while CCNE and ACEN review the nursing programs themselves. For a leadership degree, the programmatic seal is the one that counts.
Employers, especially hospital systems and Magnet-aspiring organizations, often screen for graduates of accredited nursing programs. Accreditation also keeps the door open to a DNP or PhD later, since doctoral admissions committees expect an accredited master's. ANCC certification eligibility rules, including those for nurse executive credentials, reference graduate degrees from accredited programs. An unaccredited degree can leave you with a credential you cannot build on.
The CCNE directories, last updated in March 2025, show the following:
For George Mason, VCU and Marymount, the directories we reviewed did not confirm current status for their leadership or administration tracks. That is a gap in what we could verify, not a finding about the programs. We also found no relevant ACEN entries for these schools, and expiration dates were mostly unavailable.
New programs may hold candidacy status rather than full accreditation, so ask the admissions office what that means for your graduation date.
Most nurse administrators climb one rung at a time, and each step usually asks for a stronger credential than the last. Here is the typical order, with the credential that most often supports each role.
