Nursing Administration & Leadership Programs in Louisiana
Compare MSN, DNP and certificate paths, practicum rules, accreditation and costs for Louisiana RNs
Reviewed by NurseAdministrator.org TeamUpdated October 2, 202619 min read
What you’ll learn in this article…
Two Louisiana schools in our directory offer these programs: Northwestern State University and Loyola University New Orleans.
MSN fits manager roles, DNP fits executive tracks, and certificates fit nurses who already hold an MSN.
Confirm Louisiana practicum authorization and CCNE or ACEN scope at your exact degree level before enrolling.
Louisiana law sets no advanced-degree requirement for supervising nursing staff, yet employers increasingly expect a graduate credential before moving a charge nurse into manager, director, or CNO-track roles. For an experienced RN, the real question is which credential fits the target job: an MSN, a DNP, or a post-master's certificate.
Two Louisiana institutions in our directory, Northwestern State University and Loyola University New Orleans, offer graduate leadership study. Weigh them as options, not a ranking, on admissions, cost and aid, practicum hours, and accreditation.
Accreditation deserves the hardest look, because a program's CCNE or ACEN scope must cover the exact degree level you complete.
Where Louisiana Nurses Find Nursing Administration and Leadership Programs
Two Louisiana institutions in our directory, Northwestern State University (NSU) and Loyola University New Orleans, offer graduate nursing administration or leadership study. Treat them as examples of where these programs sit, not as a ranking.
Where These Programs Are Housed
Graduate nursing leadership programs generally live in public university nursing schools, private and faith-based universities, health sciences centers, and online programs authorized to enroll Louisiana residents. NSU, a public university with nursing locations in Shreveport and Natchitoches, lists an MSN with an Administrator Concentration, along with DNP Executive Leadership and Educational Leadership concentrations. Its pages describe the programs as flexible for working professionals, but they do not settle whether each option is online, hybrid, or campus-based, so confirm delivery with the school.
Loyola, a private university, lists an MSN-to-DNP Executive Leader pathway for master's-prepared nurses. The program page identifies this specialization as online and asynchronous, with 30+ credits.1 It is a DNP pathway, not an MSN or certificate, and it is currently limited to domestic students.1 Other Louisiana schools are not in our directory.
Online First, With Caveats
For most working nurses, online-eligible programs are the most flexible route. That does not make them cheaper, faster, or higher-earning, and many include on-campus intensives or practicums arranged near your workplace. Use the program search on this page to see each listing's credential and format, and see our guide to online nursing administration programs that do not require the GRE if you want options beyond Louisiana.
Common Routes Into Graduate Study
Most Louisiana nurses begin with an ADN from a community or technical college, pass the licensing exam, and then move through an RN-to-BSN or RN-to-MSN bridge. Some Louisiana health systems also run leadership-development tracks or tuition partnerships with universities. Ask your HR or nursing education department what is available before you apply.
A Five-Point Evaluation Checklist
Accreditation: Confirm the nursing program holds CCNE or ACEN accreditation.
Admission status: Check the school's own page for current application windows and start terms.
Practicum support: Ask whether the school helps place you with a preceptor or requires you to find one.
Louisiana authorization: For online programs, verify the school can enroll Louisiana residents.
Total cost: Add tuition, fees, travel for any campus visits, and practicum expenses.
MSN Vs. DNP Vs. Post-Master's Certificate: Which Path Fits You
The MSN suits nurses aiming for manager and director roles, the DNP suits those targeting executive or CNO-track and systems-level leadership, and the post-master's certificate suits nurses who already hold an MSN in another specialty. The figures below are typical national ranges, not any one school's requirements, so confirm specifics with each program. For a deeper look at the doctoral route, see our DNP in nursing administration guide at /dnp-in-nursing-administration/.
Factor
MSN in Nursing Administration
DNP (Executive or Leadership Focus)
Post-Master's Certificate
Best fit for
Aspiring nurse managers, assistant directors and clinical directors
Executive or CNO-track leaders and systems-level change agents
Nurses with an MSN in another specialty who want an administration or leadership credential
Typical credits
About 30 to 40 credits
About 30 to 40 credits after a master's; often 70 to 90 from a BSN
Often 12 to 24 credits, set by a gap analysis of your prior coursework
Typical length
About 18 to 30 months, depending on full-time or part-time study
About 1 to 2 years after a master's; 3 to 4 years from a BSN
About 6 to 18 months
Typical practicum hours
Commonly a few hundred supervised hours in a leadership setting
Programs generally build toward 1,000 total post-baccalaureate practice hours, including hours credited from your MSN
Often 100 to 500 hours, depending on what your earlier master's already covered
Typical roles
Nurse manager, assistant director, clinical director
Nurse executive and larger-system leadership roles
Same management roles as the MSN, without repeating a full master's degree
Pay reference (2026 comparison)
$86,530 to $112,000 a year
$169,789 a year (executive-level roles drive this figure)
No separate pay benchmark; pay follows the role you move into
Employer expectation
Usually enough for manager, assistant director and clinical director jobs
Hospital and health-system employers say a DNP is usually required only for leadership and executive positions
Valued as proof of administration-specific preparation; no national employer data reported separately
Enrollment trend
Master's enrollment rose 6.8% from 2024 to 2025, the second straight yearly increase
DNP enrollment rose 5.9% in the same period, 22 consecutive years of growth
National enrollment and completion for certificates are not reported separately
Questions to Ask Yourself
Is your next target role a unit manager or director job, or a CNO and system executive role?
A DNP increasingly signals readiness for top executive roles in larger Louisiana health systems, while an MSN may be enough for many unit level management positions.
Do you already hold an MSN, so that a shorter post-master's certificate could get you to NE-BC eligibility faster?
If you already have a graduate nursing degree, a certificate may save you semesters and tuition while still covering Nurse Executive Board Certification eligibility requirements.
Will your Louisiana employer reimburse tuition only for certain credentials, or require a service commitment afterward?
Some hospitals fund an MSN but not a DNP, and others ask for a two year work agreement after you finish. Clarify the fine print before you commit to a longer path.
Can you arrange a practicum with a nurse leader at your own facility, or do you need a program that places you?
Many Louisiana students use a current supervisor as a preceptor, but if you are not already in a leadership track, look for programs that offer clear practicum placement support.
Admission Requirements for Louisiana Applicants
Requirements vary by school, so treat the points below as typical patterns and confirm specifics with each admissions office before you apply.
Active, unencumbered RN license
Programs generally expect a current RN license issued by the Louisiana State Board of Nursing (LSBN). Louisiana is a Nurse Licensure Compact member as of 2026, so a multistate license may also work. Multistate eligibility is tied to your primary state of residence, so confirm your status with LSBN and the program. Licensure by exam involves a $100 non-refundable application through the Louisiana Nurse Portal, a criminal background check, and the NCLEX-RN.
BSN from an accredited program
Most MSN, DNP and post-master's tracks ask for a BSN from a CCNE- or ACEN-accredited school. ADN-prepared nurses can often start through an RN-to-MSN bridge, which folds BSN-level coursework into the graduate sequence. Ask each school how its bridge works.
Minimum GPA
A GPA around 3.0 is a common benchmark. Some schools offer conditional admission if your GPA falls slightly short, sometimes with a probationary first term.
Experience, resume and references
Many programs look for one to two years of RN or leadership experience. Expect to submit a current resume and professional references, ideally from a nurse manager, director or other supervisor who can speak to your leadership potential.
Personal statement and transcripts
You will usually write a statement about your leadership goals and send official transcripts from every college attended. Some programs also require a statistics course before you start. GRE scores are increasingly waived, but check each program's policy.
Cost, Financial Aid and Employer Tuition Support
Estimating the cost of a nursing administration degree in Louisiana starts with one formula: per-credit rate times total credits, plus fees. The tricky part is that published figures are rarely nursing-specific, so treat every number below as a starting point and confirm it with the program's bursar.
Resident vs. Nonresident Tuition
Louisiana public universities charge nonresidents noticeably more. At LSU Health New Orleans, the 2025-2026 graduate handbook lists $13,088.77 in tuition and fees for residents and $25,361.35 for nonresidents.1 For Fall 2025 alone, the figures were $5,163.50 and $10,209.23.1 These are unrestricted graduate enrollment amounts, not a nursing per-credit rate, and a student admitted as a nonresident may be reclassified under the residency rules described next. The Board of Regents FY2026 fee file lists a graduate nursing figure of $10,558.40 for the campus, but it does not state the enrollment period or credit load.2 LSU Baton Rouge's preliminary Fall 2026 graduate schedule shows $5,712.25 for residents and $10,043.25 for nonresidents, again not specific to nursing.3
Residency is decided by the registrar after you apply. Generally you need 12 consecutive months of Louisiana domicile before the semester starts, and moving here mainly to attend school does not count. One exception: after 12 months, you may qualify if you are employed in Louisiana and registered for no more than 6 semester hours in a semester.4
Building Your Estimate
Many online programs skip the resident split. LSU Online's DNP Nurse Educator track charges a flat $735 per credit with no out-of-state fee, so 35 credits comes to $25,725.5 Then add technology and other fees, books (LSU Health New Orleans estimates $3,500 for books and supplies)6, and any practicum-related expenses.
Aid Sources
Federal aid: File the FAFSA to apply for Direct Unsubsidized loans. Ask the financial aid office which other federal graduate loans, including Grad PLUS, apply to your start date, since federal rules are changing.
Scholarships: Check your school of nursing, professional nursing associations, and state nursing organizations.
Public Service Loan Forgiveness: Nurses working full-time for public or nonprofit employers may qualify after 120 qualifying payments on eligible federal loans.
Employer Tuition Support
For working nurses taking on nurse administrator duties and responsibilities, employer reimbursement is often the biggest cost lever. Ask HR at your Louisiana hospital system about the annual cap, whether a graduate certificate in nursing administration, an MSN, or a DNP qualifies, whether you pay upfront and get reimbursed after grades, and any work commitment. Leaving early can mean repaying what you received, so get the terms in writing before your first class.
What Health Services Managers Earn in Louisiana
Nurse administrators fall under the BLS category of medical and health services managers, so this wage spread is the closest public benchmark for Louisiana. Use it as ROI context when you weigh the tuition figures in the cost section. Actual pay depends on your employer, facility size, region and experience, and no wage is guaranteed by a degree.
The tradeoff most working Louisiana nurses face is flexibility versus certainty: an online program may fit your shift schedule, but the practicum is where logistics get real. Hours depend heavily on the credential, and who finds your site matters almost as much.
How Hours Differ by Credential
MSN nursing administration practicums vary by institution. Many fall somewhere around 100 to 300 or more hours, but no national standard sets one total. AACN's 2021 Essentials call for at least 500 practice hours at the advanced level, though that expectation is not necessarily a standalone practicum in every administration track.1 Ask each program how it counts hours and what is included.
DNP programs follow AACN guidance of at least 1,000 post-baccalaureate practice hours.2 That figure is broader than a single practicum. Post-master's students may have qualifying prior graduate-level practice counted through a gap analysis, so the number of new hours you complete can be lower than 1,000. Your program decides how much credit applies.
School-Placed vs. Self-Arranged Sites
Some programs place you with a preceptor and site. Others expect you to find your own. For a nurse working full time, placement support can save weeks of phone calls and prevent a stalled start date. If you must self-arrange, ask what the program requires of a site and how quickly it reviews one.
State Authorization Matters for Online Programs
Louisiana participates in SARA,3 but NC-SARA membership alone does not allow an out-of-state nursing program to place students in Louisiana practicum sites. The Louisiana State Board of Nursing separately approves out-of-state graduate and APRN programs that offer Louisiana clinical or practicum experiences, and that approval is time-limited. Graduates of a program lacking that approval may face problems with Louisiana credentialing. Before you enroll in a program based elsewhere, ask whether it holds current Louisiana Board of Nursing approval for practicum placements.
Securing a Louisiana Practicum, Step by Step
Identify a preceptor: Look for a qualified nurse leader, such as a chief nursing officer, director, or nurse manager, whose role matches your goals. Your own employer is a good place to start.
Secure an affiliation agreement: The facility and the school usually must sign a formal agreement before any hours count. Legal review can take time.
Confirm site approval with the program: Get written confirmation that the site and preceptor meet program criteria before you log hours.
Start early: Begin the search a semester or more ahead, since agreements and approvals often move slower than expected.
If a program cannot explain how its Louisiana placements are authorized, treat that as a reason to keep looking.
An online program accepting Louisiana students is not the same as being approved to place them in Louisiana practicum sites. Before you pay a deposit, ask admissions in writing whether the program is authorized to operate in Louisiana and what placement support it offers for your preceptor and site.
CCNE and ACEN Accreditation: How to Verify a Louisiana Program
Asking whether a program is "accredited" is the wrong first question. The better split is between Louisiana State Board of Nursing (LSBN) approval to operate and national accreditation at the exact degree level you plan to complete. Both matter, but they do not mean the same thing, and a program can hold one without the other.
Two National Accreditors, Two Jobs
CCNE and ACEN are both recognized by the U.S. Department of Education. CCNE reviews baccalaureate, graduate, and DNP programs; ACEN accredits all levels. For nurse administrator education, either body generally satisfies employer and certification expectations. What matters is that the specific MSN, DNP, or post-master's certificate is listed, not just the school.
How to Verify the Exact Program
Search the CCNE program directory and the ACEN search tool by institution, then filter to your intended degree level.
Confirm the listing names your MSN, DNP, or post-master's certificate, including any concentration or track.
Note the accreditation term and next scheduled review date in the ACEN upcoming visits list. If the directory does not show both, ask admissions for written documentation.
Repeat the check for your planned delivery format if the listing distinguishes online, hybrid, or campus options.
For example, Northwestern State's MSN and post-master's certificate appear under CCNE with full LSBN approval, so a student can verify both layers explicitly.
Where LSBN and Regional Accreditation Fit
LSBN approval is state authorization, not a substitute for national accreditation. LSBN requires graduate nursing programs to hold national accreditation within one year after full approval, with a possible one-year extension. Regional accreditation, such as SACSCOC, is a separate institutional layer. Check all three when you compare programs: LSBN status, CCNE or ACEN status for your exact degree, and the institution's regional accreditation.
Red Flags to Watch For
"Candidacy" or "initial accreditation" status means the program is not fully accredited yet.
A listing that covers only the BSN when you are applying to an MSN, DNP, or certificate.
Vague answers from admissions such as "we are accredited" without specifying the accreditor, degree level, or term.
Accreditation must match the exact degree level you plan to enter, whether MSN, DNP, or post-master's certificate. Verify the program's CCNE or ACEN scope before you apply.
nurseadministrator.org
How to Become a Nurse Administrator in Louisiana
Louisiana employers increasingly expect graduate-level preparation for leadership roles, even though state law sets no advanced-degree requirement to supervise nursing staff. The practical path runs through licensure, a bachelor's degree, hands-on leadership, graduate study, and national certification. Here is the sequence most Louisiana nurses follow.
The Five Steps
Step 1: Earn RN licensure. Qualify to practice by passing the NCLEX-RN and obtaining your license through the Louisiana State Board of Nursing. Every leadership path starts with an active, unrestricted RN license.
Step 2: Complete a BSN. If you entered nursing through an associate degree or diploma, finish a BSN or use an RN-to-BSN or RN-to-MSN bridge. A bachelor's in nursing is the baseline for most certifications and administrative postings.
Step 3: Build leadership experience. Step into roles such as charge nurse, unit supervisor, or committee lead. This management time counts toward certification eligibility and demonstrates readiness for formal director tracks.
Step 4: Earn a graduate degree. Complete an MSN or DNP in nursing administration or leadership. Louisiana does not legally require an MSN to manage nurses, but employers commonly expect one for director and executive positions.
Step 5: Pursue certification. Add a recognized credential once you meet the experience thresholds (details below).
Certifications Worth Targeting
ANCC Nurse Executive (NE-BC): Requires a bachelor's degree in nursing, roughly 2,000 hours of leadership or administration within the last three years, and 30 continuing education hours in the specialty over that same period.1
ANCC Nurse Executive, Advanced (NEA-BC): Requires a graduate degree, about 2,000 hours in a system-wide or organization-wide leadership role, and the same 30 continuing education hours.2
AONL Certified Nurse Manager and Leader (CNML): Requires a bachelor's degree (at least one in nursing) plus roughly 2,080 hours as a unit leader, or about 4,160 hours in broader leadership support.3
AONL Certified in Executive Nursing Practice (CENP): Requires a master's with at least one nursing degree and about 4,160 hours in a senior executive role, or a BSN with roughly 8,320 hours.4
For the full career roadmap, including nurse administrator salary context and role progression, see our complete guide at /how-to-become/.
Frequently Asked Questions About Nursing Administration Programs in Louisiana
These are the questions Louisiana nurses ask most often when they compare graduate leadership programs and related licensing paths. Check each answer against the current requirements of the program, employer, or board involved before you act on it.
Often the coursework is online, but a fully online degree rarely means no in-person work. Practicum hours happen at a real healthcare site, usually near you, and the program must be authorized to place students in Louisiana. Ask the school to confirm that authorization in writing before you enroll.
Usually not directly. Most MSN programs expect a BSN, but RN-to-MSN bridge programs exist for ADN-prepared nurses. They add undergraduate nursing coursework first, then move into graduate leadership courses. Admission rules, credit transfer, and timelines vary by school, so ask each program how it evaluates an ADN and your experience.
A nurse administrator is an RN who leads nursing staff or services, typically with a graduate degree. A nursing home administrator holds a separate Nursing Facility Administrator License from the Louisiana Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators. It does not require an RN license. It requires a bachelor's degree, 1,040 hours of administrator-in-training work, and state and national exams.
Not automatically. Certification bodies set their own eligibility rules, which usually combine your degree, current licensure, and leadership experience. A post-master's certificate can fill the graduate leadership coursework gap if your MSN is in another specialty. Confirm the exact criteria with the certifying organization before you enroll.